April 27, 2009

  • TUNDRA

    NEW STUFF

    TOYOTA TRUCKS 2007 TUNDRA
    CONGRATULATORY EDITION

    IMG_8690

    I don’t remember exactly when, but it was either late 2007 of early 2008, that I spotted a Toyota Tundra diecast on Yahoo Auction Japan. It was packaged just like the one in the photo below, labled TOYOTA TRUCKS 2007 TUNDRA. No other information about the model was available, but it appeared to be some sort of promotional model, probably in conjunction with the introduction of the new Tundra that was being produced at the time.

    IMG_8691

    I tried asking some contacts at Toyota Motor Sales in Torrance CA, to see if they had any knowledge about the model, but none of them knew anything about it. I started searching eBay and never found one for sale. When I visited Japan in 2008 I spotted a few for sale in some minicar shops, but they were a little too expensive for me at ¥7000 to ¥8000. I had heard a rumor that the model might be made by Minichamps, which was somewhat confirmed when I learned about a black (and then red) Toyota Hilux by Minichamps on eBay (from Europe), and then on the Minichamps website. During all that time I told myself to be patient & that I’d eventually find out more, and find a model at a reasonable price.

    Tundra Diecast Sale Announcement
    “Announcing the Toyota Tundra Die-cast Blow-out Sale!”

    And so it was on April 1st 2009 that an announcement was sent out to Toyota dealers from Toyota Motor Sales Marketing. Apparently TMS had limited quanities of this model that they were offering to Toyota dealers on a first-come, first-served basis, and “not available anywhere else.”  There was no explanation as to the origins of the model, or it’s original point of distribution. The models were available in four colors (Nautical Blue, Blue Streak, Silver, and Red), and could be ordered through the Toyota Material Distribution Center. Only a few hundred of each was available and I promptly placed an order for each color. I was able to get all but the red one – I think the east coast and midwest dealers had a jump on ordering over those of us in the west coast. Even though I didn’t get a red one, I was very happy that I was finally able to get not just one of these models, but three – and that I was able to get three for far less money than I could have paid just a few months before.

    TOYOTA TRUCKS – 2007 TUNDRA
    CONGRATULATORY EDITION
    NAUTICAL BLUE

    IMG_8671    IMG_8674

    IMG_8675


    TOYOTA TRUCKS – 2007 TUNDRA
    CONGRATULATORY EDITION
    SILVER

    IMG_8672    IMG_8676

    IMG_8677

    TOYOTA TRUCKS – 2007 TUNDRA
    CONGRATULATORY EDITION
    BLUE STREAK

    This is the origianl blue version that I had seen last year (and my favorite color for this model).

    IMG_8673    IMG_8678

    IMG_8679

    IMG_8680    IMG_8683

    IMG_8681    IMG_8682

    IMG_8685    IMG_8686

    IMG_8684

    A view of the base plate with reproduction signature of Yuichiro Obu, Chief Engineer.
    3000 Units Limited Production.

    IMG_8687

    There is no reference as to who the actual manufacturer of the model is, other than “Made in China” which is on the bottom of the model.
    The underside of the model is also imprinted with:
    TOYOTA TUNDRA 1:43
    TOYOTA MOTOR ENGINEERING & MANUFACTURING NORTH AMERICA, INC.
    STYLING LICENSED BY TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

    IMG_8819

    Back of the box with a close up of the text.

    IMG_8688    IMG_8689

    * * *

Comments (6)

  • You still have those Tundra’s and would you sell one?

  •  The Tundra’s illustrated are in my personal collection and not for sale, however, the dealership I work at still has TWO for sale – a Nautical Blue and a Silver. Please email me at mfoertsch(at)cabetoyota(dot)com if interested.

  • Thanks bro! Email on the way.

  • I received a number of inquiries about these trucks since this entry was originally posted.

    Sadly to say these models are no longer available from Toyota. Our dealership is completely sold out. The best place to look for them would probably be eBay.

  • Beautiful model
    You have to sell this model?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *